What Does Your Auto Insurance Cover?

Personal Injury Protection (PIP or No-Fault)
According to Florida law, if you own a motor vehicle with four or more wheels you must carry $10,000 of personal injury protection insurance (PIP) and a minimum of $10,000 of property damage liability insurance. In the state of Florida you must seek medical treatment of some sort within 14days of the accident or you forfeit your personal injury protection and you receive no money for your medical bills. 

Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance covers you regardless of whether you cause an accident (are "at-fault") -- up to the limits of the policy. PIP is designed to reduce the necessity of suing for reimbursement of medical and related bills from auto accidents. PIP pays:


  • 80% of reasonable medical expenses
  • 60 percent of lost wages
  • $5,000 for death benefits


For accidents that happen in Florida, PIP covers you and relatives who live in your home, certain passengers, and others who drive your car with your permission. Pedestrians and bicyclists are also covered if they are Florida residents.

For accidents that happen outside Florida but inside the U.S. or Canada, PIP covers you and relatives who live in your home. In this case, you must be driving your own vehicle. Persons other than you or your relatives are not covered.

PIP Chart

While you should read the policy to see exactly who is covered, this chart will help you determine the type of questions you should ask your agent

(This chart refers to accidents occuring in Florida unless otherwise noted.)

PIP Covers
Your PIP
could cover, depending
on your
policy, or the
Members of your household who do not own a vehicle of their own    
Passengers who do not own an auto, and therefore do not have PIP
Passengers who own a vehicle but do not have PIP coverage  
Passengers with their own auto and PIP  
Licensed drivers who drive your vehicle with your permission  
Your child (if a resident of your household) if injured on a school bus ride
You and members of your household for accidents occurring outside of Florida but within the U.S. or Canada
You, as a pedestrian or a bicyclist, if you suffer an injury in an accident involving a motor vehicle while in the state of Florida
You, in someone else’s vehicle
You, while outside your vehicle or while working on your vehicle    



Clinic Hours

Monday, Wednesday09:00 AM - 03:00 PM
Tuesday, Thursday12:00 PM - 06:00 PM
Friday09:00 AM - 01:00 PM
We're looking forward to hearing from you!

Need an Appointment?

Give us a call at:


Contact Details

Performance Driven

Therapy & Chiropractic

Located inside the

Windermere Business Center

6735 Conroy Rd. Suite 211

Orlando, FL 32835



Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© Performance Driven Therapy & Chiropractic

This website was created using IONOS MyWebsite.